Minerva Punjab FC midfield sensation Jeakson Singh Thaunaojam bags “The Moment of the Year” Award

Minerva Punjab FC midfield sensation Jeakson Singh Thaunaojam bags “The Moment of the Year” Award 
Apollo Tyres backed Minerva Punjab FC have yet another reason to cheer as their Academy product Jeakson Singh Thaunaojam, one of the four players who was selected to represent India in their first ever FIFA World Cup U-17 Tournament was awarded “The Moment of the Year” Award at the inaugural ESPN Multi-Sport Awards.
Intrestingly, A whooping 11 Minerva Punjab FC Academy players were selected for the India U-17 World Cup Camp and finally saw 4 making the cut into the final squad, holding a unique record of being the only football club to contribute its players as the rest of the team consist of AIFF Academy products.
16-year old Jeakson Singh Thaunaojam who hails from Manipur scripted his name in the Indian football folklore when he scored the country’s first ever World Cup goal across all age groups.
The awards, which recognise achievements across 11 categories, were selected by an independent 14-member jury.
It is indeed a great honour for 16-year old Jeakson Singh Thaunaojam to share the stage alongside eminent sports personalities including Abhinav Bindra, Somdev Devvarman, Bhaichung Bhutia, Jagbir Singh, Rohit Brijnath, Venkatesan Devarajan, Nisha Millet, Aparna Popat, Jagdish Kaliraman, Manisha Malhotra and  Anju Bobby George to name a few.
Meanwhile, PV Sindhu was adjuged Sportsperson-of-the-Year Female title for her fantastic performance round the year, winning the Indian and Korean Open Super Series titles along with Srikanth, who claimed the title of Sportsperson-of-the-Year Male for his incredible run, bagging four Super Series titles.
Other winners included the Indian National women’s hockey team, which bagged the Team-of-the-Year title for its first Asia Cup triumph in 13 years.
MC Mary Kom (Comeback performance); Aditi Ashok (Emerging Athlete); Pullela Gopichand (Coach); Ramanathan Krishnan (Lifetime achievement); Sundar Singh Gurjar (Differently-abled) and the Target Tokyo Award to  Neeraj Chopra (Track and field) were the other winners of the ESPN awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *