Minerva Punjab FC coaches bags 3 Awards at The Inaugral All India Football Coaches (AIFC) Annual Awards Ceremony 2018

Minerva Punjab FC coaches bags 3 Awards at The Inaugral All India Football Coaches Annual Awards Ceremony 2018

Hero I-League Champions, Apollo Minerva Punjab FC added another feather to their cap as 3 of their Coaches were awarded at the first ever Association of Indian Football Coaches (AIFC) Annual Awards ceremony held at the DY Patil University in Navi Mumbai, on Tuesday (24th July 2018).

Famously known for being one of the leading feeder club’s to the Indian National Team’s different age groups, Minerva Punjab FC are widely renowned for grassroot development and contribution for Indian Football, where in just 3 years of its existence the club produced over 42 players to represent the country in various age groups. This exceptional achievement would surely not be possible without the hardwork and selfless dedication of tactician’s working behind the scenes, Winning the I-League itself was the biggest achievement for the Players & Management, Now The AIFC Best Coaches Award add’s more to the honour it has achieved.

Former Head Coach, Wangkhem Khogen Singh has been awarded as the “Best Coach” in the I-League category after leading Minerva Punjab FC to the summit – only the second north-Indian club to achieve the feat since JCT in the inaugural NFL (National Football League) way back in 1996-97.

In the U-13 & U-15 Category Youth Team Coaches, Anthony Andrews and Harpreet Bedi also won accolades for sucessfully defending the AIFF U-15 Youth Team Title for 3 consecutive years, whereas Winning the Inaugral AIFF U-13 Youth League remaining undefeated in as many matches played.

The Inaugral Awards saw coaches from across leagues being felicitated. in presence of Kishore Taid COO AIFF, Chirag Tanna FSDL, General Manager; Aditya Thackeray, MDFA President; Dr. Vijay Patil, Chancellor DY Patil University; Henry Menzes, WIFA CEO; Souter Vaz, Hon. Secretary WIFA who were present for the occasion.

The list of awardees are as follows:

AIFC Hall of Fame: PK Banerjee.

AIFC Coach of the Year Awards –

Youth League U-13: Anthony Andrews, Minerva Punjab FC.

Youth League U-15: Harpreet Bedi, Minerva Punjab FC.

Youth League U-18: Bobby Nongbet, Shillong Lajong FC.

I-League 2nd division: David Robertson, Real Kashmir.

Indian Women’s League: Shukla Dutta, Rising Student Club.

Indian Super League: John Gregory, Chennaiyin FC.

Hero I-League: Khogen Singh, Minerva Punjab FC.

AIFC goalkeeping coach of the year: I-League: Arpan Dey, Mohun Bagan.

AIFC special Achievement award: Western India Football Federation (WIFA) Maharashtra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *