Apollo Minerva Punjab FC clinch The 56th Principal Harbhajan Singh Memorial All-India Football Tournament.

Mohali based Apollo Minerva Punjab FC defeated Mumbai’s ONGC FC in the finals of the recently concluded 56th Principal Harbhajan Singh Memorial All-India Football Tournament played at Sri Guru Gobind Singh Khalsa College, Mahilpur.
Minerva Punjab FC defeated Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala 2-0 to reach the finals as Ivorian import Bazie Armand scored the first goal in the 22nd minute while Right-back Harpreet Bedi doubled the lead in the 67th minute to register their berth in the Finals. Meantime in the second semi-finals Mumbai’s ONGC blanked Punjab Police, Jalandhar, 3-1 which saw Himanshu opened the account for ONGC in the 16th minute Policemen’s Jaspreet Singh levelled the score just before the half time. In the second half, F Lacmvanlwa gave ONGC the lead in the 64th minute as Tehnwo scored the third goal in the 91st minute to seal ONGC’s win.
The Warriors of Punjab played ONGC on 22nd February at Sri Guru Gobind Singh Khalsa College Grounds, Mahilpur which led to a goalless 90 minutes eventually leading to the penalties to decide the winner. Minerva Punjab FC converted all 4 of their spotkicks thru Thomas, Altamash, Moinuddin and Deepak Devrani as ONGC FC missed one, leading to a 4-3 scoreline.
To add feather to their cap, Minerva Punjab FC’s central defender Deepak Devrani was awarded the Best Player of the Tournament.
Minerva Punjab FC next host Defending Champions Aizawl FC in their Round 16 of the ongoing Hero I-League.
Match Schedule :
Minerva Punjab FC vs Aizawl FC
Date : 26th February 2018
Kick Off : 2.00pm 
Venue :  Tau Devi Lal Stadium, Panchkula 
Live on : StarSports 2; StarSports 2HD; HOTSTAR & Jio TV
For Minerva Punjab FC Official Merchandise visit : 
Complete list of Hero I-League 2017-18 Season ! 
Book you seats at : 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *